Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was a police officer in a Mass town for 18 years. I got divorced and had problems to say the least,mostly alcohol. I was put on a stress leave and ordered to go to a psych. returned to the job in June 06. A ne w chief had taken over, basically ignored recommendations of psych. My alcohol problem was well documented and the new guy actuaslly encouraged my abuse ,by taking me out ,drinking after work, Long story short I had an altercation off-duty,with a fellow officer , while in a stuper and was suspended for 5 days and eventually forced to resign, Thankfully since that time (July 1 2007) I have turned my life around. I applied for reinstatement and was denied ,do I have a case on the town failing to act ,and ignoring the issue ??? Just want my job back that I loved and was very good at? Any direction would be appreciated.:confused:

·
Registered
601 Posts
Rugger,

I wish you well and hope all works out but you must be on a bender tonight to post something like that on a message board..

·
Always entertained
2,550 Posts
Rugger, in my experience on the job I've found that people with substance abuse problems blame everyone but themselves for their downfall. Your on the right track straightening out you life but try to stay away from the blame game. Try starting over somewhere else, your already painted in your town. Just my 2 cents good luck

·
Maddy B's grammy
2,017 Posts