Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
393 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted the Sgt.postion for Stonehill College Police, One of the requiremnts is a MA LTC. Is Stonehill College Police armed now?

·
Registered
114 Posts
I applied there about 2 years ago. Made it to the final 3, but not the final cut. At the time they said that they were trying to get armed, but it was an uphill battle. I'm not sure if they finally did. The LTC could be for spray, which they do carry.

Good luck. Nice campus (I got my CJ degree there), great benefits & good pay for a campus PD.

·
Registered
413 Posts
no, they aren't armed...they carry the retractable baton. I'm actually getting a watchman's position there and should hopefully be starting soon :)

·
Czar of Cyncism and Satire
2,070 Posts
Well what's the difference between the Watchmans position & Campus LE position?

·
MassCops Member
24 Posts
The Sgt's position is filled along with a patrolmans spot. There is no firearms. The LTC is for spray. If the watchmans job payed more there would be a line for the position. Easy work no one bothering you alot of down time.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Some places use the LTC as a screening tool. I have heard of private secuirty companies doing the same. While most Chiefs will issue anyone who meets the minimum requirements an FID, they are usually a little more careful with the LTC. That way if your local Chief won't give you an LTC a campus Chief might want to think twice about hiring you.

·
Registered
413 Posts
yea doin some training for the watchman's position today, but basically it sounds like I just walk around making sure buildings are secure, alarms are set, etc etc. I wonder if I get anything as protection just in case any wild and crazy Stonehill students are running amuck

·
Registered
172 Posts