Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys , been following masscops for a while now so I’ll try to post this without asking answered questions. Quick background I live in a major city in Mass (Springfield, Worcester, Boston). Im 25 and I dispatch full time for one of these cities. I also work part time as a reserve officer in a town near by. I ranked topped 30 civil service for my city. This post is to get more info on state police and how it compares to being on a larger city department. I’ve talked to a lot of officers in my city but I don’t know many troopers to pick their brain.
my city has a lot of different divisions and move up potential as well as endless detail opportunities. I am getting ahead of myself and I will happily take whatever’s offered to me. This post is just for my curiosity so that I can pursue what’s best for me and my family. All information is welcome, thanks!

·
Registered
381 Posts
With MSP your nearest back up could be 10 miles or more away at any one time (out west), pay is better than most city departments (with the exception of Boston in my opinion, even though I’m biased). Your first 4-5 years you’re almost guaranteed to be stuck on highway duty with no weekends and holidays off, although the same could be said for no weekends and holidays for city too.

If you’re looking for more action and more variety it’s a no brainer the city will offer that. MSP along with BPD and other city departments have a ton of specialized units, but the exception with MSP is they have more unilateral power to “push” muni departments to the side if they want to. Even here in Boston the MSP is starting to involve themselves more than ever with our gang units in Dorchester and Roxbury. 5-10 years ago MSP having anything to do with BPD gang units was kind of unheard of. Agency cooperation is never a bad thing though..