Self Sponsoring/MSP | MassCops

Self Sponsoring/MSP

Discussion in 'MPTC' started by Kenny, Mar 25, 2016.

1. Kenny

Kenny MassCops Member

All the excitement for a potential 83rd RTT has me curious about a few things. I'm currently set to be sponsored by a PD into the next available full time MPTC academy. Most are currently in session so it looks like the next academies will be starting sometime in the fall/winter. Hypothetically lets say I have a shot at the recruitment process for the 83rd since my name was very close to being reached for the 82nd. If I've already paid for and started the MPTC academy and I get fortunate enough to be chosen by the MSP, I wont be getting any money back from the MPTC will I? This might be a dumb questions and I'd obviously be financially OK if I graduated from the MSP academy. However it's a good chunk of change to pay for the tuition, equipment, medical exam etc up front.

Of course this is all Hypothetical and I realize I have some great opportunities ahead of me regardless of what happens. Just looking for some insight since saving money now to be prepared for 6 months of limited income is important for me. Thanks all.

2. Goose

Goose The list is long but distinguished. Staff Member

I highly doubt it unless you have a prior arrangement with the MPTC. Keep in mind if the class is at full enrollment you would likely be keeping them from filling your seat with another self-sponsor.

Last edited: Mar 27, 2016
    Kenny likes this.
  3. j809

j809 Subscribing Member

Remember your full time academy is only good for two years after graduation , which means you have two years to get a municipal or umass job. These are the new changes. Part time employment doesn't count anymore.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. 508Junie

508Junie MassCops Member