Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im considering applying for a seasonal position. Plenty of overtime at current dept but considering this just for a change of pace & closer to home. Do most have good relationships with the reg officers?, do seasonals get the crap duties? Etc. Any input is appreciated.

·
Registered
72 Posts
I worked as a seasonal officer for Nantucket 95, 96, and 97. We were treated ok by the FT guys, no bad assignments, I worked a downtown foot patrol all three years 7p to 3a and saw plenty of action. I would recommend looking into seasonal positions if you are looking to get into LE.

·
Subscribing Member
2,201 Posts
No offense but why work for a town where they won't let you carry unless that has changed or is wrong. If you want to be a Seasonal Police Officer, go to Provincetown, ya its sounds silly, but I worked there for two years and it was great. You will do EVERYTHING, they will not shit on ya cause you are a summer cop and they won't tie your hands. I did foot and crusier patrol, I worked plainclothes, plainclothes unmarked patrol, there is a good amount of action there and you will have fun.

·
MassCops Member
134 Posts
If you are just breaking into LE, I would grab whatever summer position you can get. I've heard that P-town, Wellfleet, Nantucket, Dennis and Yarmouth are some of the better places to be a summer special. Some departments really tie the hands of their summer officers, and relegate them to traffic and parking. Quite a few of my friends (and myself) started out as a summer special. Just be really careful about making a bad name for yourself, and do the work that the supervisors ask you to. Don't try to be a hero and ruin your career before it even starts. The internal politics in this line of work will sometimes make or break you.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6