Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
FYI - I'm new to Masscops so forgive me if this has already been discussed. Last weekend on two separate occasions while on traffic stops with newer model, Honda vehicles I observed an image of myself on the dashboard monitor where navigation would normally be seen. I was FTO with a trainee so I was support on the right/passenger side of the vehicle's and noticed a rear facing camera on the right side mirror of both. Prior to those encounters I was not aware of the rear facing cameras, just wanted to get it out there for everyone. Is anyone aware of other manufacturers who have similar cameras?

·
Super Moderator
6,578 Posts
Just passed a Honda on the highway and noticed the camera mounted on the passenger side mirror. Usually they're only activated when the car is in reverse, but I'm sure that can be "hacked". Poses a potential concern for sure, but can probably be blinded with a spotlight. Never enough direct able lights....

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
On both stops, my "boot" said transmission was in park, I didn't see that myself. Flashlight would blind camera, that's how I found it, I noticed what I thought was myself on the dashboard screen so I moved my light to confirm...felt kinda wierd!

·
Premium Member
6,118 Posts
Some of the new Toyota's have a "birds eye" view with a perimeter scan. I think right now it's only available on the higher end models, but that might change with the new model year. It is a little strange to see yourself on the car's camera when you're only expecting to work in the rear.

·
Super Moderator
7,120 Posts
Some of the new Toyota's have a "birds eye" view with a perimeter scan. I think right now it's only available on the higher end models, but that might change with the new model year. It is a little strange to see yourself on the car's camera when you're only expecting to work in the rear.