Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does the Quinn Bill apply to Campus PD's? or to Town Specials?
Just Curious...
Thanks everyone.. and Happy Holidays...
-PVD24

·
Subscribing Member
4,316 Posts
As far as I know it, Chapter 41 Section 108L I believe (QUinn Bill) only pertains to municipalities and the MSP have it also. Other departments cannot join without an act of legislation being passed(i.e Environmental PD is trying to get it, i know they had a bill in the house and I believe Boston Housing was trying or trying to get Group 4 retirement).

·
Subscribing Member
453 Posts
As a Campus Police Officer I can tell you that I'm not aware of any school that has it..I think a few of the private school's may give additional pay for a degree....but no offical bill.......back over the summer I had heard that some Sgt from Salem State wanted to create a AFSCME group 3 just for public safety so we would could push for the Quinn Bill..a higher detail rate..etc...Haven't heard anything since then...so who knows...

G

·
Housing PD has Group 4 retirement presently. One of the very few benefits we have working here by the way. We got it through the Boston Retirement Board that agreed with us that if it looks and walks and quacks like a duck, it usually is.

Of course BHA management tried to squash it there and at the Contributory Retirement Assistance Board (CRAB) and at the Administrative Law judge, all of whom voted in our favor. Now they want a 4th decision on it in front of 1 SJC Justice.

Funny thing is that on the last page of our present contract (2 1/2 years without one presently) it states that BHA supports out efforts LEGISLATIVELY to get Group 4. They were mad we got around it instead of having to make a piece of legislation which usually gets lumped in with the Fire Dept mechanics and the dog officers who want Group 4 as well. :sb:

·
1,952 Posts