Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an interest in becoming a CPO, but I am unfamiliar with the process. I have no experience as a police officer, so I am hesitant to apply before doing some research. So if anyone can offer some guidance, I would appreciate it. Is it hard to get a legit response from agencies because I have never been through an academy?

·
Registered
131 Posts
I would start applying anyway, each college is different but many will hire unexperienced officers and send them to an academy, in fact many colleges would rather hire someone who they can mold instead of hiring an experienced or former municipal officer. College Police work and municipal police work are similar but there are some differences experienced officers may have difficulty adapting to, therefore I would advise you to apply anyway...

Good luck

·
Registered
120 Posts
If you really want to enter into the police field, you may very well have to relocate to gain experience. I went to DC for 4 years to get my academy and experience. Now I'm back. Very easy to get on outside of New England.

Question is, do you want it bad enough?

Civil Service is a crap shoot, try your luck.

·
Registered
18 Posts
If you have a Reserve Academy and a College Degree, a Campus can put you on the road without a full academy. I know where I work, they've put a few on that way. A good way to start is as a dispatcher and do that for a year or so. A lot of Colleges like to see you prove yourself before they put you on the road.

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I have a college degree (public Admin), I never really gave this career too much thought in college, but my dad is muni cop, and my brother is a firefighter, so I know that sometimes the civil service can work out.....not sure if its worth relocating, I appreciate everyone's feedback

·
Registered
316 Posts