Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am an aspiring police officer and recently applied for a dispatcher position to gain knowledge and experience in law enforcement. On the application there was a space for additional comments, I wrote "I am an aspiring police officer looking to gain experience in law enforcement". Would this most likely help or hurt my chances of getting this job. Dispatch work does interest me and I would be very eager to learn and take the job seriously, however do not want to lie about my intentions. Any help is greatly appreciated.
thanks

·
1,334 Posts
If you wrote that on the application, it may be a statement you want to expand upon in the interview so they know your reasonable about your expectations, know it takes a combination of time, experience, and education/training to advance within the field. Leaving that as it is stated might give the impression your going to begin dispatching and the first day in the door not even think of the dispatching responsibilites and expect a position as an officer.

For example, I have known a few part-time dispatchers that within the first week on the job were itching to be appointed as special officers and work details. Most departments won't make any moves like that for six months to a year during the probationary period. There are the exceptions ofcourse for those that come with experience from other departments, but that is the exception, not the rule. I was lucky enough to start out with a department that hires/promotes from the ranks of their part-time officers and full-time dispatchers, but beforehand sends you through the reseve academy and gets you some basic experience which usually would be a time period of atleast two years or more depending on the gaps in hiring (small department).