Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am helping a friend write a paper for one of her CJ classes. I was wondering if you guys/gals would help out...

What do you think some pros and cons of being a campus cop are? Why do many people view us as security? The differences between Campus Police and Security. Also the difference between Campus Police and Municipal Police. Any opinion you want to add would be spectacular. If you have any more ideas as to what to write about that would be great. Thanks!!! :p

·
Registered
137 Posts
I'm no expert... but my opinion on one part of your question... the
Why do many people view us as security?
part... I remember when I was at the University of Hartford not paying much attention to Public Safety... I didn't know what they were or could do or not do... I think that is a lot of it... for students anyway... they don't understand the scope of Campus Police Departments... unless they have to meet you in a less then favorable way :)

To this day I don't know what powers they had or didn't have... I simply think that due to the limits of their jurisdiction most students don't recognize them as what they know as "Police"...

Or something... hope that made sense... :) Good luck...

·
Subscribing Member
530 Posts