Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Heres the deal, I claimed residency preference for an unnamed community, yet because I'm 33 I will not be considered for employment according to HRD. Evidently I was negligent not to realize that I couldn't get hired there after age 31.I have been a full time police officer for six years (unfortunately non-civil service) and worked as a special and reserve with other departments since 1997. I am one of the most proactive and progessive officers on my department and have numerous commendations etc.It would be advantageous for a department to hire a well qualified officer with an excellent track record, not to mention the amount of specialized courses, academy costs etc that they would save in hiring someone like me. Does anyone know if there's any way around this age limit law, it doesn't even show me where I stand on thier list. It sounds like age discrimintation to me, does the state have any type of lawsuit history on this matter????

·
Registered
190 Posts
The only way I know of is to get an act passed just for you!

Chapter 136 of the Acts of 2007

AN ACT AUTHORIZING THE APPOINTMENT OF ALCINO FERNANDES AS A POLICE OFFICER IN THE TOWN OF MILFORD NOTWITHSTANDING THE MAXIMUM AGE REQUIREMENTS.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same as follows:

SECTION 1. Notwithstanding any general or special law to the contrary, the personnel administrator of the human resources division shall certify Alcino Fernandes to be eligible for original appointment to the position of police officer in the town of Milford according to the grade he received on the examination for police officer held in April of 2007, notwithstanding the maximum age requirement for the position. If Alcino Fernandes meets all other requirements for certification as a police officer, the town of Milford may appoint him.