Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

MassCops Angel
121,497 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dustin Pedroia (file image)

Kevin Youkilis Finishes Third

BOSTON (WBZ) ― Dustin Pedroia won the AL MVP award Tuesday, becoming the first second baseman to earn the honor in nearly a half-century.

Watch Dan Roche's Interview With Pedroia

Watch Pedroia's News Conference

Pedroia easily beat out Minnesota slugger Justin Morneau and added to his ever-expanding trophy case -- generously listed at 5-foot-9, the Red Sox star was the top AL rookie last year while winning a World Series ring.

Nellie Fox was the last second baseman to become AL MVP, in 1959 with the White Sox. No position has produced fewer MVPs overall.

Pedroia drew 16 of the 28 first-place votes cast by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America and finished with 317 points.

Schilling Blog: "Congrats You Little #@!$!"

Boston Dirt Dogs Salutes Pedroia

It was a scattered ballot, with five players receiving first-place votes.

Pedroia was even left off one ballot -- Morneau and Boston first baseman Kevin Youkilis were listed on every one.

Morneau got seven first-place votes and had 257 points. Youkilis and Twins catcher Joe Mauer each got a pair of first-place votes. Record-setting closer Francisco Rodriguez of the Angels drew the other first-place nod and came in sixth.

Pedroia led the AL in hits, runs and doubles in helping the Red Sox win the AL wild-card berth. He batted .326 with 17 home runs and 83 RBIs and also stole 20 bases.

Pedroia quickly became a fan favorite at Fenway Park with his meaty swings and scrappy approach. This year, in a lineup depleted by injuries to David Ortiz and Mike Lowell and the midseason trade of Manny Ramirez, Pedroia took his hearty hacks wherever needed -- while he usually batted second, he also hit leadoff and cleanup.

The 25-year-old Pedroia was the fourth second baseman to win the AL MVP award, joining Fox, Joe Gordon (1942) and Charlie Gehringer (1937).

Six second basemen have won the NL honor.

Pedroia became the 10th Red Sox player to take the award and first since Mo Vaughn in 1995.

Morneau, the 2006 AL MVP winner, hit .300 with 23 home runs and 129 RBIs in helping the Twins reach a one-game playoff for the AL Central, which they lost to Chicago.

Youkilis (.312, 29, 115) was third with 201 points and Mauer (.328, 9, 85) was next with 188 points.

White Sox star Carlos Quentin, who was leading the AL with 36 home runs when he broke his right wrist in an act of frustration, was fifth with 160 points.

Rodriguez, who went 62-for-69 in save chances and recently filed for free agency, drew 143 points.

Texas slugger Josh Hamilton, who made a remarkable recovery from drug addiction to resume his career, was seventh and followed by last year's winner, Yankees star Alex Rodriguez.

Tampa Bay first baseman Carlos Pena came in ninth, the top vote-getter from the AL champion Rays.

Pedroia, who made just $457,000 last season, didn't have an MVP bonus provision in his contract. Morneau earned $75,000 and Mauer, Youkilis and Pena got $25,000 each.

Here are the top vote-getters:

Player 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Dustin Pedroia, Boston 16 6 4 317
Justin Morneau, Minnesota 7 7 6 257
Kevin Youkilis, Boston 2 4 4 201
Joe Mauer, Minnesota 2 8 1 188
Carlos Quentin, Chicago 1 4 160
Francisco Rodriguez, LA 1 2 6 143
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.