Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Evening everyone, I have been looking for some information and stumbled upon this site (nice site btw) I took the civil service exam here in New Jersey, passed and im #2 on the list for my city. I have gone thru the physical exam and handed in all my background info paperwork to IA. Im waiting to be scheduked for some 5 hour long psyc test and then the interview with the chief. I am looking for some good tips when interviewing with the Chief, for example should I addess him as Sir or Chief? I don't want to sound like some guy who is trying to be all military (im a 8 year veteran) like but I want to show him respect. And also what can i expect during this psyc eval? I have a buddy who is a cop in my town but he is currently serving in Al-Kut Iraq and comms have been few and far between. Thanks Guys and Gals, any info would be greatly appreciated.

NJBadBuell

·
Subscribing Member
397 Posts
Number one tip: Be Yourself. I would address him as Chief at first. But when replying to a question sir would be acceptable. It shows him respect for his postion. Since you are military, Sir is second nature. It will only seem natural that you call him sir during the interveiw.

As far as the Pysc. If it's like Mass', expect alot of questions and a brief interview with the "Doc" after. Mostly likely it will be mainly A or B type questions. i.e.: Would you rather drive a race car or be a florist?
Be consiatant in your answers and don't try to "beat" the test. Most importantly don't try to read into the questions. Take them at face value.

Good luck!

·
Registered
72 Posts