Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know some security guards and SSPOs use prescription drugs while on duty.

I am wondering has anyone experienced any simular situations with officers or security guards abusing prescription drugs, and how it was handled.

·
Administrator
8,417 Posts
In one sentence you say "Use", in another it’s "Abusing".
Which is it? An officer buying prescription type drugs from a dealer on the street in order to satisfy an unlawful habit.
Or, an officer taking a legally prescribed pharmaceutical in order to manage a health condition?
I’m not an expert on the employment regulations of police officers, but I think there is a distinct difference between those two scenarios.

Also, are you talking about narcotic or mind \ mood altering drugs (etc.)?
“Prescription Drugs” covers much ground. I hope your not planning on ratting out your partner for "Jonesing" over penicillin...

·
Registered
9 Posts
Who would want to work with anyone on any type of narc.meds, prescip or otherwise? If you have some type of injury severe enough to warrant narc. meds you should be riding a desk or at home riding the couch.Also, I love when my co-workers show up to work with the flu, etc. "just had to drag myself in" and share my disease. Today's lesson: if you're not 100%, stay home.:sb:

·
Retired Fed, Active Special
8,710 Posts
Wolfie!

Tell it like it is. Some officers are working this job on anti-hypertensives, prescription pain-relievers, hormone replacement therapy, insulin, mild anti-depressives, anti-histamines, etc. It doesn't mean they're disabled or have functional limitations. Look at Civil Service regulations and Category "A" vs. Category "B" for medical conditions. Some things might surprise you that cops can stay on the job with. Bottom line is how it affects them.