Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So when is the Beverly Police Dept. going to hire the first woman officer? The former Chief vowed that no woman would be appointed while he was Chief but he took an abrupt early retirement. There are a few well qualified candidates on the present list. :roll:

·
Registered
51 Posts
:yes: I agree with you shawnr76, I am a female officer and I do not like being hired because I will fill some quota. In my interviews I always stress "do not hire me just because I'm a female, hire me because you think I'm qualified to do the job. Don't get me wrong I think its great :L: to have a department with different races, sexes, & ages with different backgrounds, but don't hire just to fill a female spot or a specific race to make your department look good ](*,) , fill a quota with people who are qualified for the position. :sb:

·
Out of the Loop
2,512 Posts
I'm going to be brutally honest here and say that I don't care HOW I get the job at this point, as long as I get it! Let's all admit it now, people, as it stands, the current hiring practices of this state are pretty dog-eat-dog. I've been going through this bull for years now, and I really don't care what it takes now.

And I know I am qualified on my own without my gender being an issue, but if I'm offered a position by a department that I would really like to work for just because I have a couple of ovaries (among other female attributes), I'll take it!

Sorry, but I'm getting old and I just don't care anymore. :(

G

·
There's another town out there in the same situation. Walpole as of last year had no female Police Officers within it's ranks. I don't believed they have hired since then as well.