Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to this forum and signed up for informational purposes. I have been a civil service police officer for 10 years now and I thinking of making the jump to NHSP. ( or atleast trying ). Does anyone have any information about NHSP I.E Would I have to attend the academy again ? How do they determine the hiring process ? The shifts ?

Any feedback to this matter will be greatly appreciated.

Posted Wed 23 Jun, 2004 10:31:

O and BTW, I got on when I was 21 so I am still a young pup in that aspect !!! lol

·
Registered
168 Posts
I believe you have to go through their 3 month academy. I know for the cities and towns full time out of state cops only have to attend a 200 hour const. and criminal law courses, not sure if same rule applies to the NHSP. The state troopers attend the same academy with other municipal police recruits.
The test is pretty tough. When I took it there was not a big turn out of people. The test had math problems, grammar, spelling, reading comprehension, and analogies. They grade your test right there, if you pass you will be invited to take the PAT in the afternoon. Running on that indoor track sucked big time. I think 17 times around = 1.5 miles. They have strict eye requirements though, many people were turned away at the door due to their eyesight. Thats why not to many people apply. Many fail the exams as well.
NHSP is a top notch unit, very squared away and organized. They jumped all over people that showed up to the test unorganized. The pay rate isn't the same as MA. they make alittle less, but it all works out in the end. only tax up there is real estate tax, which you get whacked on. They don't dance around the fire and do a song and dance like Civil Service does here, pretty straight forward and fast moving process.

·
screw you...
2,692 Posts