Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· MassCops Angel
Joined
·
121,617 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A new Oklahoma law that takes effect today, Tuesday, Nov. 1, is intended to gradually introduce driving privileges to young drivers.
The new law adds Oklahoma to the list of about 40 states that already have graduated driver’s license systems that restrict young drivers.
Graduated driver’s license systems require teens to be issued an intermediate license for a period of time, and sometimes specify they drive under supervision and during only certain hours. The Oklahoma Legislature approved the requirements for young drivers this spring.
An intermediate license can be obtained after driving with a permit for six months. Applicants cannot have any convictions on their driving record. They must have a parent or legal guardian certify that the teen has received a minimum of 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
Once a teen receives their intermediate license, another six-month probationary period begins.
The new law restricts driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. during the first year licensed. Young drivers would be allowed to drive during the restricted time period if accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age in the front passenger seat of the vehicle.
The night-driving restriction is also lifted if driving to or from work, school or church.
The new law also prohibits more than one passenger in the vehicle under age 21 unless they are relatives in the same household.
At the end of six months, if the young driver maintains a clean record, they can apply for an unrestricted license.
Law enforcement officers won’t be able to randomly stop teens to see if they are in violation of the new rules, The Oklahoman reported. They would have to be stopped for some other traffic offense, such as speeding or a bad headlight.
Anyone found in violation of the restrictions would face about $180 in fines.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
532 Posts
Sounds pretty much like the MA restrictions, but I do believe it's between 12AM and 5AM that they can't drive if they're under 18, and for 6 months they can't have passengers in their cars.
 
1 - 2 of 2 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top