Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've always been curious. Has anyone actually gone from being a municipal P/O to becoming a campus P/O for any reason? I know some people move away to become a municpal officer and then get their experience or the "spark stuff" out of their system then come back to MA for a nice cushy campus job.
If anyone has done this I'm interested in finding out, do you consider it a step back/forward?, do you find that having gotten all the traffic stops and arrests out of your system it's easier to deal with having your hands tied by the campus administration or do you find it harder to have to play by a different set of rules.
Any replies would help my paper thanks a lot!

·
Subscribing Member
1,170 Posts
Well manny I for one fit this bill, twice. I was a municipal officer in Florida for 7 years before returning to Mass and landing that coveted campus job. Yep, more $$$ and less work/stress. But after 10 years I began to think, "geez, can I be a municipal officer again?" I was in the campus system for so long I began to question my own abilities. Frustrated with the CS here (been on a town's list for 5+ years), I went back to Florida. After some refresher training, FTO, etc., I was back on the bricks again, working nights, answering call after call. After 8 months of that, plus my wife and kids' strong desire to return, we came back.

I don't think a campus job is a step backwards. I do think that a campus job for a new person in this field can/might create some problems. One may get frustrated not getting those "hot" calls, pursuits, nightly arrests, etc. Me? I could care less, but am grateful for the experience I gained from working down south.