Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently a SF soldier stationed in Ft. Bragg, NC. I am very interested in a career in law enforcement after active duty. I will apologize beforehand if my questions are posted elsewhere, I am not as saavy to forums as I should be. Being out of state for this long, will that be a detriment to getting a position with the Mass State Police? How would the process go forward, my being out of state? Should I wait until I am DCed and then process? I have heard that MSP is super political in its appointments, would I have a decent shot? Is it possible, even acceptable to stay on in the NG? I know of a couple of Special Forces companies in Rhode Island and Massachusetts; is anyone in this forum in SF NG in New England? Sorry for the rants, just looking for some answers. Thanks for everything.

·
Needs more complaints
4,309 Posts
18Bravo said:
I am currently a SF soldier stationed in Ft. Bragg, NC. I am very interested in a career in law enforcement after active duty. I will apologize beforehand if my questions are posted elsewhere, I am not as saavy to forums as I should be. Being out of state for this long, will that be a detriment to getting a position with the Mass State Police? How would the process go forward, my being out of state? Should I wait until I am DCed and then process? I have heard that MSP is super political in its appointments, would I have a decent shot? Is it possible, even acceptable to stay on in the NG? I know of a couple of Special Forces companies in Rhode Island and Massachusetts; is anyone in this forum in SF NG in New England? Sorry for the rants, just looking for some answers. Thanks for everything.
18B, check your PMs.

Take the test as soon as it is announced, and you can stay in the NG if you want. The dept hires based on test scores, not "who you know". Trust me.

·
Registered
83 Posts