Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

I am currently an officer with the LAPD (originally from Mass) and have been for the past 6 1/2 years. I am considering moving back to Mass for family reasons. Just wondering if anyone out there has left an out of state department to move back to Mass? Have you encountered any problems and were you exempt from attending the Mass Police Academy?

Take care out there and be safe

·
Subscribing Member
3,456 Posts
Irishlacop";p="56652 said:

I am currently an officer with the LAPD (originally from Mass) and have been for the past 6 1/2 years. I am considering moving back to Mass for family reasons. Just wondering if anyone out there has left an out of state department to move back to Mass? Have you encountered any problems and were you exempt from attending the Mass Police Academy?

Take care out there and be safe
I'm LAPD also, Rampart Area. Been on the job for 16 years. What division do you work? I'm from the South Shore. I can tell you a bit about moving back home. I looked into it a few years back.

·
Subscribing Member
3,456 Posts
EOD1";p="56659 said:
I've considered the opposite, tell me about the LAPD!
It's a great job, always busy! Depending on what division you work, some are busier than others. Lots of gang and narcotics activity. We had over 500 homicides last year.

The starting pay is pretty good, especially compared to other major departments around the country. The weather is almost always nice so that makes for year round crime.

The city is 465 square miles with about 4.5 million people. We have 19 patrol divisions to work, not to mention all the specialized divisions. Thee are 9000 officers on the job now. It's a good place to work. The biggest drawback we have is the media and the local community groups. Some of them just don't like us!