Mass DOC hiring and selection process | MassCops

Mass DOC hiring and selection process

Discussion in 'Corrections' started by Travis, Jul 15, 2015.

1. Travis

Travis New Member

IHello,

My name is Travis, I'm 29 and I currently live in Florida. I'm wanting to relocate and start with Mass DOC. I have six years of military experience (30% disability from VA), an Associate's degree in Criminal Justice, and just finished up my Bachelor's degree in Criminal Justice. I'll be working on a graduate certificate in forensic criminology at the University of Massachusetts-Lowell starting first thing next year.

I was just trying to get an idea of the likelihood and process of being hired by the Mass DOC. Pay and retirement look fantastic. I suppose I'm thinking the degree, military experience, and disabled veteran points on the civil service exam would make me competitive. I realize the DOC has been flooded with applicants during the recession, but now that the economy is starting to pick up (a little bit) I'm just not sure how sought after and competitive these CO positions with the state are.

It seems as though they offer the written CO test and conduct interviews one time a year, any idea how many they bring on-board at a time? Was also trying to get an idea of the quality of benefits (health ect) from Mass state jobs as well as if being out of state initially would negatively impact my application in some way (would prefer a job offer on the table before making the move) Any info on selection process and training would be appreciated.

Thanks,

-Travis

2. pahapoika

pahapoika Subscribing Member

Your disabled vet status (thank you for your service ) will put you at the top of list with the other disabled veterans. The degree will earn you a couple extra grand a year, but don't think it would factor into the hiring process.