Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone here train in any forms of martial arts? If so what field of study, for how long, rank etc. Also as I am a civilian dispatcher I don't know the ins and outs of usage or force. Are you legally allowed to use pain compliance points or joint manipulation i.e. small circle ju jitsu. I studied Shito Ryu for about 10 years and received my black belt in that style. I also studied Greek Mu tau Pankration for about 3 years. Just curious if any police officers feel a need for further unarmed self defence training in the academy too.

·
1,952 Posts
Well you are considered a deadly weapon so fight with caution.

I practiced Kempo for about 6 years before I stopped w/ rank of Green w/2 stripes. Couldn't make any of the classes because of other activities. Wouldn't mind starting back up again.

I've heard of a lot of people doing something like Brazillian Wrestling.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ah yes brazilian jiu jitsu, that is what I am thinking of studying next, as I now have time to study again.

·
Subscribing Member
2,280 Posts
I took Tae Kwon Do for 8yrs and I use to be a 2nd dan degree black belt.
I say use to be because I have not been into it for 9 years. Tae Kwon Do is something you have to continue to do or you will lose your flexibility and skills just like any other martial art. Would like to get into it sometime down the road.

·
Registered
371 Posts
I'm currently a 3rd degree brown belt in Judo and have found many situations where it could be applied on the job. It's mostly throws and hold downs, everynow and then we get into Ju Jitsu and Kempo. It's definitely something that can be explained in the report writing process as far as use of force goes.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·