Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
I am just looking for some input and opinions on Civil Service Lateral Transfer. I am currently a police officer in a non-civil service Dept and am looking to move on. I have the full time academy and I currently have a offer from a civil service dept. The issue is that this dept is about a 45 minute ride from home. I would love to take the job and lateral to a dept closer to home in about a year or so. My only concern is being denied a transfer. I know the appointing authority has the right to deny the transfer. Do I have any legal course to pursue if denied the transfer? Has anyone heard of any horror stories with regards to the appointing authority (or Chief) denying someone a transfer. The way I look at it is that if I accept the job I am saving the dept money and time because I already am academy trained. Do I bring this up prior to being appointed or will that ruin my chances?

thanks

·
Registered
69 Posts
You have to already be a civil service appointed police officer to lateral transfer into a civil service police department. You have to take the test, like everyone else and be selected off the civil service list to be appointed. The only edge you have on everyone else is your experience will earn you experience points on the test. Good Luck.

G

·
Discussion Starter #3
Maybe I made myself unclear, I have the chance to get hired on a Civil Service Dept. I took the test, interviews, PAT, Medical ect. and passed and I am being offered the job. My concern is I would like to transfer in a year if I do take the job but fear that the transfer will get denied for whatever reason. Am I making any sense? Probably not.

·
Registered
138 Posts