Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Subscribing Member
459 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's true. After 9 years, I resigned from BPD about two weeks ago, to take a job with the MSPCA Law Enforcement division.

MSPCA Police Officers are SSPO's and their powers I beleve are outlined by statute, as well as statutory rights of inspection. My question is, do SSPO's have any common law rights of arrest, like in presence breach of the peace? I have no knowledge of what their authority is outside their assigned areas, and seeing as we actually have no campus or property to patrol, I'm curious as to what else I would be able to do should the situation arise.

·
Subscribing Member
530 Posts
Re: I just left Boston PD, and all I got was this lousy t-sh

SSPO powers are very restricted look at the MGL in which your authority as a SSPO comes from. An example is MGL 22c Sec 63 gives you the right of arrest on lands owned used or occupied by a college or hospital. I don't believe MSPCA is 22c. sec 63

·
Registered
186 Posts

It's true. After 9 years, I resigned from BPD about two weeks ago, to take a job with the MSPCA Law Enforcement division.

MSPCA Police Officers are SSPO's and their powers I beleve are outlined by statute, as well as statutory rights of inspection. My question is, do SSPO's have any common law rights of arrest, like in presence breach of the peace? I have no knowledge of what their authority is outside their assigned areas, and seeing as we actually have no campus or property to patrol, I'm curious as to what else I would be able to do should the situation arise.
Are you saying that you resigned as a Boston Police Officer to become a MSPCA Officer? Or were you employed by the city in a non law enforcement job? or were you a Rule 400 Special?

·
Out of the Loop
2,512 Posts