Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, just joined this froum! My name is Kayla.

I'm a female, 18 years old, and I am currently majoring in Criminal Justice at a local college. I plan on going all four years. These questions are probably asked a lot, but I have a few...

(1.) Right now I work at a hospital, is there any jobs that I could do within a police department or something related to that with my age and major?
(2.) I've heard that having a family member who was a former police officer, or being in the military helps a lot. However, I have neither of those. I am physically fit, I do speak a decent amount of Spanish, and I am also taking courses in college for Spanish. Will this help me at all?
(3.) When should I start thinking about applying and all that? I know the age is 18, but should I wait until I finish college?

To put it simply, what do I need to do in order to become a police officer? Probably sounds stupid, but I don't want to miss any oppurtunies. I've tried contacting some officers at my local police station, but I don't want to interfer with their time.

Any info. would be very helpful. Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
5,852 Posts
Being in the military does help if you take the civil service test by adding a few points onto your final score. It also shows that you have discipline and honor. It is NOT a requirement, neither is having a relative who was a police officer.

I think in this day and age your mastery of spanish will be a big asset to any police department. It may even make you some money if you are off duty and get called to translate at a scene or booking. Keep up with that.

You could check with your local PD to see if they have any jobs that an intern could help with, such as data entry of citations or filing. Sure it sucks, but it's a start.