Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering what everyone on here likes when it comes to cuffs.I just got a new set of smith and wesson cuffs and they seem pretty nice. What does everyone else use. Iam thinking of getting a set of hinged cuffs as a second set. i have never used hinged before so do any of you have a pair that you would suggest.
Thanks

·
Subscribing Member
292 Posts
Smith & Wesson M 100s...great cuffs. I know many officers that swear by the hinged cuffs. There are advantages and disadvantages to both. The hinged cuffs are stronger (the chain is only as strong as its weakest link), but when you are struggling with a subject the chain is more manueverable. I guess it is a trade-off.

·
Registered
561 Posts
...or if you are trying to restrain a fat guy, or someone else who may not be able to get their arms back too far, the hinged ones are going to leave you high and dry!

-Mike

·
Registered
252 Posts
I love my peerless I have both hinged and chained, I've also used Hiatts and Smith's there ok too. The only ones I don't like are those American cuffs the ultra light no good.

·
Out of the Loop
2,512 Posts
tomahawk said:
...or if you are trying to restrain a fat guy, or someone else who may not be able to get their arms back too far, the hinged ones are going to leave you high and dry!

-Mike
Glad to see someone paid attention in Handcuffing!

What about fur-lined cuffs, makes for a great gag to slip into your partner's case when s/he isn't looking!

·
Registered
561 Posts
Dungie, of COURSE I paid attention! How could I not, he was twisting me like a pretzel while he tried to demonstrate how impossible it was to cuff someone with them double locked... d'oh!

kdk240 said:
No kidding.. absolutely carry a pair of each. (Chain and hinged) they will come in handy some day...
kdk, good thing you clarified -- I thought you meant you carried one regular, one fuzzy pair...

-Mike

·
Registered