Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
screw you...
2,692 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is probably a dumb question but you know the saying "the only dumb question...."
We finally have leadership that isn't afraid to use the SWAT team. We have seen our use increase dramatically in the last year. That being said, getting called out and responding from home, in our POV's is getting kinda frustrating. There's alot more traffic in Worcester nowadays and it's a real bitch trying to get to the station ASAP but in the safest way. Our LT says no to blue lights in our POVs (totally understandable, wouldn't want one anyway). I'm not too keen on advertising I'm a cop to everyone, but a takehome cruiser makes sense.

My question (finally) is, are there grants available for takehome cruisers for emergency response teams (SWAT)?

We have a good Capt. and he's getting grants for all kinds of other equipment. But transportation is always an issue with us. Plus this issue of mutual aid with surrounding towns. Takehomes with our gear secured in them (on and off duty) makes for a rapid response in time critical incidents....

Any help, thoughts, experience, policies, knowledge, etc. would be appreciated.

·
screw you...
2,692 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Damn maybe I didn't.. I think.. NO I DID.. No wait.. Ah hell now I'm all confused... Did I??

·
Registered
189 Posts
Deuce, I don't know if this helps or applies towards cruisers for Swat teams, but it is worth looking into.Some of the Police Agencies on the North Shore that have started up recent k-9 units(Peabody,Saugus) have done so with Grant money which I believe also includes money for cruisers.Danvers is starting up a k-9 unit through the use of Grant money.It might be worth getting in touch with them to see where their grant writer is looking.

·
Subscribing Member
4,316 Posts