Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
665 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Gentlemen,

Just to give you a little backround about me. I'm 35 years old and have my BS in Respiratory Therapy and my post grad in cardiac perfusion. I work for one of the local VA hospitals and have been employed with the goverment for 10 years working in my field. I have no military experience. I have always (since I was 18) wanted to become a Police officer, but never pursued it. I went to college and entered the medical field. I would really like to become a Police Officer in my home town or with the RISP.

I guess my question is..............what are my chances of becoming a Police officer in my hometown, which is East Providence, Rhode Island or with the Rhode Island State Police?? I know I still meet the age limit for both departments, but am I being unrealistic???

I work out at the gym with alot of the guys from East Providence PD (good bunch of guys) and the ones I've mentioned it to said I should go for it. My cousin is a East Providence Police officer and my Aunt is a Rhode Island State Trooper. I've spoken with both about my continuing interest of wanting to become a Police officer.

I know I need to start taking test when the departments offer them, but what are the written test like???? Are the test something I can study for??

What I'm asking for is a starting point. Can you guys give me some advice?? If I did get on with my local guys, I would be taking a paycut in comparsion with my current pay. I sitll would be able to pay my bills.............. but I really want to do LE.

Thanks in advance,

Blackdog

·
Registered
186 Posts