Family Medical Leave Act | MassCops

Family Medical Leave Act

Discussion in 'Police Administration' started by kttref, Dec 19, 2008.

1. kttref

kttref New Member

Can the town and Chief force me to use all my accrued sick/comp/vacation time PRIOR to letting me use FMLA for pregnancy? Anyone know?

2. Johnny Law

Johnny Law Nemo me impune lacessit Staff Member

I thought that's how they paid you while you were out. Example: I used a month of combined vacation, comp and sick when my son was born. This was FMLA and I still got paid my normal pay, just billed out to those three accounts. Otherwise, you can go into no pay status and still be out on FMLA for up to 12 weeks.

3. BrickCop

BrickCop Subscribing Member

I think he can as I understand FMLA but I'm no expert...what does your union counsel say?

4. BLUE BLOOD

BLUE BLOOD ...---...

You decide when to use it, not your Chief.

5. Nuke_TRT

Nuke_TRT Stirrer of the Pot

Q: Does the law guarantee paid time off?
    No. The FMLA only requires unpaid leave. However, the law permits an employee to elect, or the employer to require the employee, to use accrued paid vacation leave or, subject to certain restrictions, sick or family leave, for some or all of the FMLA leave period. When paid leave is substituted for unpaid FMLA leave, it may be counted against the 12-week FMLA leave entitlement.

6. kttref

kttref New Member

Ugh. So glad I brought this up 2 months ago and the decided to get back to me 2 weeks before my due date. I had no intention of using all my paid leave - I had every intention of using unpaid leave. Looks like I'm only gonna get a month or so with my son before I have to go back to work. Unbelievable.

7. HELPMe

HELPMe New Member

FMLA just holds your position. It does not pay you for being out of work. That's why your chief said use your sick/vacation/comp time in order to receive a paycheck other wise you get squat.

8. DJM1968

DJM1968 MassCops Member