Does the reform bill affect new SSPOs? | MassCops

Does the reform bill affect new SSPOs?

Discussion in 'Massachusetts Employment' started by Jrw76, Feb 23, 2021 at 12:32 AM.

1. Jrw76

Jrw76 MassCops Member

Hi... I'm a retired cop from outside of MA and have been looking to become a CPO and work at a university. I looked around the forum for an answer and couldn't find it, but I apologize if someone already went over this and/or if this isn't the right place to post this. Having said that, I was wondering how the reform bill will impact applying for an exemption from having to attend an academy and being granted SSPO status by MSP? I saw a memo put out by MSP last April outlining all of the different ways to become a SSPO and I didn't know if the reform bill will affect any of that, and if so, what part(s)? Thanks in advance!

2. j809

j809 Subscribing Member

Yes all Campus cops will fall under POST as well. It is not known yet how this will play out

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jrw76 likes this.
  3. Jrw76

Jrw76 MassCops Member

4. CarbonFiber

CarbonFiber New Member

Jrw76,
    Where were you a LEO? Were you fulltime & did you graduate from a full time academy? I was just granted exemption through the Certification Unit of the MA State Police for SSPO Certification. There's a required list of things you need to send to the Certification Unit and in addition, you have to have your employer, the Police Chief, sign off on the request for exemption.
    You are correct, as far as the R/I Academy's, they are not being held anymore.

Jrw76 likes this.
  5. Jrw76

Jrw76 MassCops Member