Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since Massachusetts is not the easiest place to become a police officer, I was thinking about going Federal. My question is, how difficult is it to get your foot in the door to the FBI? Do you have to be reccomended in or is it a test?
I have my Masters in Science in Criminology and a Bachelors in Administration of Criminal Justice and am now working on my PhD in Humanities. I also speak 2 other languages besides English. Russian, and Polish.
Not sure if my qualifications would help me. Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
PVD24

·
Registered
4,210 Posts
Your qualifications are great. Althrough last I checked they were prefering people that spoke middle east languages I bet that Russian would help you.

Also, I spoke with an agent about 2 years ago and he told me flat out: "Expect to move around a lot, especially in the first four years..." (I was engaged at the time) "...if you want to start/have a family this probably won't be the job for you" Thus I'm purusing LE instead in CT.

Here is a link that will give you more info into the FBI.

FBI FAQ's

And here is a job link:

FBI Jobs

I hope this helps.

·
Subscribing Member
1,316 Posts
u should consider NCIS, they are hiring and with ur qualifications and language proficiency u should stand a great chance of getting hired, they have an office in newport and boston. I did a job with the head of the middle eastern field office and they need qualified people bad!

·
Registered
66 Posts
FBI - you need significant experience or graduate education. Looks like you have that down - there's a written test, psych & polygraph, and major background investigation. Languages help. Expect to move a ton.

NCIS is a great agency - so is Air Force OSI - I've worked cases with both.

Bryan

·
Registered
66 Posts
TheSnake";p="50480 said: