Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Founder of MassCops
6,401 Posts
Regulation cover or the winter cap is all that is authorized, no ball caps.

·
Retired Fed, Active Special
8,659 Posts
Richard,

You know damn well as a professional I ALWAYS wear my regular uniform cap (garrison?) The one time I wore a ballcap with my Fatigues during the springtime W. Union Street downpour, Your Chief drove by and GLARED at me. My nuts went up into my tummy and I blushed beet-red!!!!
:oops:

Seriously,
I feel if we don't look and act professional at detail sites, it makes it easier for the media to take them away!

You **** wearing ballcaps might as well just sit in your car with the strobes going!
:roll:

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah-sometimes I look at the Ballcap folks and wish I was able to join 'em. But I gotta say-the regular Dept. cover looks much more professional..... 8)

·
Registered
968 Posts
How about speedo caps? Nothing caps off a good detail like some tight latex :lol: J/k....I have to agree, I am not a cop yet, but I think MPD hits it on the head with the media....I can't tell you how many times a week the local paper has comments by residents complaining about detail cops, can you imagine if they had more ammo to use in their little speak out articles.....god help them.

·
Registered
37 Posts
My department allows the ball caps on details as well as patrol. I'm of the belief that ball caps are for ball players not police officers. They're unprofessional and you won't see me wearing one on patrol, because of command presense issues. Maybe I've eaten too many lead paint chips as a child, but a 5 or 8 point cover speaks volumes with the general public and the dirt bags, opposed to a baseball cap.

G

·