Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question regarding civil service scores...

When you take the exam, obviously the score matters in order to get a card. Once you get the card how much does score matter??

Are candidates hired based on qualifications or score?? For instance if you have one person with a 90% and no college degree or experience, and another person with a 85% who has been a police officer and has a degree who would be hired??

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
No, i mean once you have been called. My background is done but there are a few people with higher scores above me, BUT I am a cop (out of state) with a degree...can they bypass someone else who is less qualified with a higher test score because they want to hire me with my exp. and degree...

·
Registered
372 Posts
jmat1980";p="58577 said:
No, i mean once you have been called. My background is done but there are a few people with higher scores above me, BUT I am a cop (out of state) with a degree...can they bypass someone else who is less qualified with a higher test score because they want to hire me with my exp. and degree...
off the Civil Service website

Appointing Authority ensures that appointments are made in accordance with the PAR .09 selection ratio 2n+1, PAR .08 and MGL Ch 31, section 27. Appointments should be made in the order for which the applicant's name appears on the certification. Reasons for selection, non-selection and removal must also be submitted to HRD.

Civil Circus

·
Registered
372 Posts
haha, I was starting to worry we'd start getting charged for taking up server space! Ahh, nothing like the occational midshift on the pine...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Tanks for the info...