Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Subscribing Member
275 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in college right now and will be working as a armed SPO in Boston. The problem I have is that I dont have a car. Going home after classes and heading out into boston for work afterwards might not be too feasible at times. I know you need authorization from the school management but is that also required if it's in a locked carrying case? And if I do need permission does anyone know if they're complicated to deal with or will they give me the go ahead? I'm a CJ student at Bunker Hill and I'm doing EMT training at Northeastern this summer.

·
Subscribing Member
292 Posts
Almost all (if not all) colleges do not allow students to carry firearms on campus. My suggestion would be to contact the university/college police department and ask if you can secure your weapon with them while on campus.

·
Registered
17,747 Posts
ROBOCOP1982";p="62939 said:
Almost all (if not all) colleges do not allow students to carry firearms on campus. My suggestion would be to contact the university/college police department and ask if you can secure your weapon with them while on campus.
I agree check with them first I'm sure they might have locker or something you can store it in while in class.

·
Subscribing Member
459 Posts
You need permission in writing from the Dean or Head of the College or University to carry on school property. If they have a police department they will, with few exceptions, allow you the use of one of their gun lockers.

There is a chapter/section that addresses this; for the life of me I can't find it.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Refer M.G.L. ch 269 sec 10 subsection "j", which reads: