Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone else out there miraculously get a card today? I am a non-vet and only scored a 95 and had given up all hope of ever getting on Boston PD, even moving out of the city just for a better shot. I was a Boston resident for several years before the '03 test and have since moved to a small north shore town last year. Does anyone know if I need to move back to the city to even be considered for employment, or does that only matter at the time of appointment/academy. ANY info about how Boston will look at the fact that I have since moved (although I am able to move back at the drop of a hat since I have no signed lease on my apartment)would be helpful. Although I am a seasoned Civil Circus disagreer and know the basic rules, Boston is a whole other ballgame and I am worried since I grew up on the south shore and not in the city, and 33% of the academy needs to be cadets (which I took the test for and never heard back), and the political machine is probably alive and well in the hiring process, that maybe my chances aren't so good, even though getting the card is the hardest part. I also have 2 years non civil service police experience and a Northeastern degree in CJ. My address and residency at the time of the last test were 100% legit, but I am worried about not living there now. Please help!!! I have other possible job offers out of state and don't want to miss out on Boston or delay other things for something that may not happen. Thanks.

·
Subscribing Member
1,322 Posts
If I'm not mistaken according to CS residency preference rules you need to have uninterrupted residency from one year prior to the exam up to appointment. I hate to say it but I think you may be screwed, I'd call CS to be sure though.

·
Subscribing Member
292 Posts