Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Subscribing Member
451 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any dog owners here who have a dog that has had a seizure? My dog was lying on the floor this morning and started convulsing, banging his head off the wall, foaming, and pissed himself. Then, he couldn't get up, thought he was gonna die. A few min later, he was growling and barking at me.. thought i was going to have to shoot him. I took him to the vet and he's staying there this AM for some tests. He's a 10 yr old German Shorthaired Pointer and has Cushings disease. Looks like Duke is nearing the end of the road.... :( He's been my best buddy since I was 13... gonna be tough if we gotta put him down.

·
Registered
40 Posts
I worked as a vet. technician in RI for 3 years before I become a cop and I have seen alot of canine seizures. The reason why he growled at you is because he was still "out of it" and was probably seeing a little blurry or even double. You did the right thing by bringing him to the vet. He may just need some medications; alot of animals on seizures are on a pill (phenobarbital usually) for the duration of their life provided the seizure wasn't caused by something related to the coushings. Seizures can be scary but I am sure he will be OK.

·
Registered
118 Posts
sorry to hear about that EMC. It is true what they say about adog being man's best firend. I hope it all works out for him, and he can come home soon.

·
Subscribing Member
451 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
PtlmRube";p="56167 said: