[NOTICE] - Canine Ifluenza | MassCops

[NOTICE] Canine Ifluenza

Discussion in 'Just Shootin' The Breeze' started by Sam1974, Nov 14, 2009.

1. Sam1974

Sam1974 MassCops Member

Hi Everyone...

Those of you who have dogs.. Please read this and consult your vet about it. It is important that everyone be informed as it is not exactly public knowledge as of yet. There have been some news coverage regarding it but not much is known to the public.

Most of you know that I work in the field of canines.. I am always informed about the goins on in the world of dogs. This is a serious issue and I don't mean to scare anyone about the health of your dogs but would like to make you aware of it.

The Canine Influenza Virus (H3N8 ) has finally made it's way to Mass. It has been working it's way up the eastern US since 2004. It was discovered when it whiped out an entire kennel of Greyhounds in Florida in 2004. It has become an epidemic down there and now it's here.

Every dog who is exposed to the virus will contract it. Since it's relatively new, none of our companions have built up any kind of immunity against it. The scariest part about it is that dogs who become infected do not show signs of the virus until 4-7 days later. In the meantime, that dog is severely contageous.

The H3N8 virus will stay on YOUR hands for 12 hours, clothing for 24 and any other surface that the dog touches, with it's mouth, for 48 hours. This is why it has spread so much. Until 2 weeks ago, there was only 1 confirmed case of it in Mass. Now that number has climbed to 11. I witnessed first hand today, how deadly this virus is.

It is commonly misdiagnosed as Kennel Cough, Parainfluenza, and Pnuemonia. The reason why is because the symptoms mimic those common respiratory problems.

There is a vaccine available. It is a serious of 2 shots. One given and 2-4 weeks later, the second set is given. Most vets are not carrying the vaccine as of yet, but there are a few in Mass.