Massachusetts Cop Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are there any ANG Security Force members here? If so what can you tell me about it. I am considering joining specifically for this MOS. Any and all info would be appreciated (training, drills, deployments etc.). Thanks for any input.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Hey john77, I was a Security Police Officer in the Air National Gaurd. However I satarted out as an Army MP, and then trasfered. That being said, I could not tell you much about the Air Force training, except what I heard. Allthough I can tell you that being an Air Force SP is a very cool job, and the Air Force is a great branch of the Military. If you want to get treated like a grunt then join the Marines or the Army like I did. If you want to eat good, and get nice clean sheets then join the Air Force for sure.

NARC

·
Registered
109 Posts
OH I almost forgot, monthly drills ussually consisted of two 8 hour days, and you can go home at night. If you join the Army, you are looking at a full weekend in the woods without a break. Also You may want to find out how the possible closing of Otis AFB will effect you getting the MOS you want though. Remember regardless of what your recruiter tells you they are going to have to find a home for the 150 or so SP's at Otis. Just something to consider.

NARC

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks NARC. Yeah the closing of the base may be an issue. I don't know if they actually have SF at other bases besides Westfield. With the base closing not happening for another year or few I am hoping that I can get in either at Otis or Westfield now and then deall with the closings when/if they occur.

·
Registered
109 Posts