Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just curious as I am new to this whole thing.
I am taking the CO exam on Saturday but what happens after that? Do I get put onto a list and when they need people, assuming my score is good, I get a call to join an academy? Do I have to keep my eye out for when an academy starts? How does this whole thing work?

Help?!?!
:confused:

·
Registered
88 Posts
I'm also taking the Saturday exam. The next academy (after October) is supposedly in January, and will probably include anyone not selected for October off the March exam. Scores probably won't be out until around December, so I don't think anyone off the September test would make the January academy. There's usually another one in the Spring - this past year it was in June.

As far as 'getting a call' - your passing score is added to the list, you sign the certification list when asked to do so, and will then be called for an interview, assuming you scored high enough. After that it's a conditional offer, PAT/drug screening, psych. eval., and finally a notice if you are hired. From what I've heard on here they don't give much more than 2 weeks notice prior to the academy start date, and sometimes even less.

You can find just out about everything you want to know by browsing this forum here. Like I said, I'm just another applicant like you, but I've been following along for a while on here. This place is a wealth of knowledge.

Good luck Saturday.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for filling me in. I had been looking around on here to try and find my answers but wasn't getting the clearest of answers.

best of luck to you as well....

xxxcrossing fingersxxx
;)

·
Registered
3 Posts