Advice for an academy trained graduate | MassCops

Advice for an academy trained graduate

Discussion in 'Massachusetts Employment' started by GO1MORE, Dec 19, 2020.

1. GO1MORE

GO1MORE New Member

Just recently graduated a full time MPTC authorized police academy as a self sponsor last week.

I have a bachelors and an associates degree in criminal justice, military experience as an MP, multiple years in the private security field and now a full time police academy under my belt. I have applied to every campus/hospital and non-civil service department with job openings with still no word back.

Looking for advice on what to do next and how to get on the job as a patrol officer. I am wondering if there is any way an academy trained person can bypass civil service and land a spot on a department. Is there an exception for that? Or if I do land a job at a university or hospital as a police officer, does that make me eligible to lateral transfer.

Feel stuck in my situation and looking for any opportunity.

2. Bloodhound

Bloodhound MassCops Member

Bypass civil service? No. Hopefully you took the civil service exam and have residency somewhere. Did you try and network with non-civil service folks in your academy? Every self sponsor in my academy (many years ago) had a job by the end with one of the non civil service departments that had someone in the academy. Don't despair, civil service will be gone in no time with the police reform bill. If I were you, I would take your academy diploma and get the hell out of Massachusetts to a more police friendly state.

Drebbin, mpd61 and Tuna like this.
  3. Tailon630

Tailon630 MassCops Member

Hey I was you back in 2016. Apply to every dept, every posting, send the resumes and cover letters to every posting, take every police exam. Go to the CivilService page if you took the most recent exam and check off on as many town and cities as possible you can get cards from anyone within the two years the test is eligible.