Massachusetts Cop Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can an old guy make it through the new academy? I am thinking about taking the next exam. I had 13 years working county (Block time, not playing wannabe) when I left 6 years ago. When it got to the point that I could only trust the inmates, I left. That in the fact the Sheriff tried to fire me while I was out sick, under a doctor's care.
I graduated top of my class in BTC 134 in January of 87. I am getting bored and fed up with civilian life and want to go back into corrections.
Does this automatically fail me on the psych eval?
Thanks in advance!

Tiny

·
Registered
37 Posts
I would say that you prolly wouldnt have a problem. There is a guy in my class who is 49 just beginning his career in corrections.

·
Administrator
8,417 Posts
Big D. - I'm 41 and taking the exam in March 2006.
There have been a few posts broaching this topic and I've had a few PM's with current CO's and the tone is older isnt an automatic disqualifier, in fact, they tend to value the experience and maturity of an older guy or gal. The general rule of thought is; the older candidates tend to handle "issues" with the cons a little more diplomatically and with tact than the 20 somethings. Not necessarily a hard and fast rule from what I've been told, but in the overall scheme. Good Luck pal...

·
Registered
159 Posts
KozmoKramer said:
Big D. - I'm 41 and taking the exam in March 2006.